About SPGS

The University Senate established the School of Postgraduate Studies (SPGS) in 2004 and was approved by National Universities Commission to run postgraduate studies in 2009/2010 academic session. Academic activities commenced in 2005/2006 academic session. The Postgraduate programme has grown tremendously in terms of programmes’ growth and students’ enrolment.

The SPGS has accomplished incomparable goals within its short time of birth; this is because of management determination and diligence in postgraduate administration. With strong postgraduate governance mechanisms and instruments, the SPGS has been able to utilize every of the available resources to promote academic integrity and produced about 11, 000 graduands from its inception to 2018.

NSUK is a comprehensive University with a broad mission of postgraduate education, research, and service to society. From 26 approved programmes at the point of approval for establishment of the SPGS by NUC, the SPGS currently houses 294 postgraduate programmes covering academic and professional Diploma and higher degrees across eight Faculties of Administration, Agriculture, Arts, Education, Environmental Science, Law, Natural and Applied Sciences, and Social Sciences, and two institutes and centres.

Despite economic and competitive challenges over the last fourteen years, SPGS has maintained focus and taken significant steps to actualize its vision. Its accomplishments over the years are a testament to the integrity and strength of the University management, SPGS Board and Management and to the dedication of the faculty and staff who remain committed to the vision, mission, and goals of the school.

SPGS has been under the leadership of seven (7) Deans since inception. The pioneer Dean was Prof. P.A. Eniayeju (Nov., 2006-June, 2010), followed by Prof. (Mrs.) Zaynab Alkali (June, 2010-Sept., 2011), Prof. S.O. Smah (Feb., 2012-Feb., 2014), Prof. M.S. Liman (Feb., 2014 -June, 2014- ), Prof. S.A. Abudullahi (June., 2014-June, 2015), Prof. I.M. Fodio (June, 2015-Oct., 2016), Prof. S.A.S. Aruwa (Oct., 2016———–), and currently Prof. Jonathan M. Ayuba (———date).


To be a world class citadel of excellence in postgraduate studies for the development of the individual and the society.


To promote academic integrity that advances the quest for intellectual accomplishments in learning, teaching, research, and service to Nasarawa State, Nigeria, and the world at large.

Core Values

We are committed to building and sustaining highest level of academic integrity through six (6) core fundamental values: Honesty, Trust, Fairness, Respect, Responsibility, and Courage.

Honesty: To advance the quest for truth and knowledge through intellectual and personal honesty in learning, teaching, research, and service.

Trust: To foster and rely upon climates of mutual trust; encourage and support the free exchange of ideas which in turn allows scholarly enquiry to reach its fullest potential.

Fairness: To establish clear and transparent expectations, standards, and practices to support fairness in the interactions of students, faculty, and administrators.

Respect: To promote interactive, cooperative, participatory learning; honour, value, and consider diverse opinions and ideas.

Responsibility: To ensure personal accountability coupled with the willingness of individuals and groups to lead by example, uphold mutually agreed-upon standards, and sanction defiant behaviour.

 Courage: To sustain and translate the values from talking points into action –standing up for them in the face of pressure and adversity through determination, commitment, and courage.


Our goal is to establish clear and transparent expectations, standards, and practices to support academic productivity. The specific goals are to:

i.     Attain academic integrity, excellence and innovation.

ii.    Promote research output, visibility, and relevance.

iii.   Promote uniform academic standards beyond NUC benchmark;

iv.   Enhance work culture, ethics, and efficient service delivery at SPGS; and

v.    Ensure quality assurance and enhancement.


In Nasarawa State University, we have a CULTURE:

Commitment to knowledge creation

Unwavering academic integrity

Lifelong learning

Teamwork and team spirit

Utmost good faith

Respect for the rule of law

Exemplary conduct

Our Philosophy

The broad objectives of Postgraduate Studies in the Nigerian University system have been enunciated by the National Universities Commission (NUC), thus:

These include the further development, in graduate students of the spirit of enquiry through training in research in an atmosphere of intellectual independence and individual creativity combined with a strong sense of group cooperation. To this end, Postgraduate School should foster, through instruction, a deeper understanding of elementary concepts and increasing ability to apply fundamental ideas to new problems. The students in the Postgraduate School must therefore be made to realize, quite early, that the intellectual growth and subsequent success are directly related to their depth of command of basic principles. Hence, although graduate studies are associated with a high degree of specialization, such specialization must be secondary to extending mental horizons, producing new orientations, and developing a sufficient depth of understanding.

The Postgraduate programmes are aimed at providing postgraduate training in selected disciplines and are directed towards expanding the boundaries of knowledge in order to enhance the socio-economic and technological development of Nasarawa State in particular and Nigeria in general.

NSUK, through its Postgraduate programmes hopes to uphold curriculum innovation and identify with the dynamic nature of the Nigerian society and respond appropriately to the general developmental objectives of Nigeria beyond the NUC benchmark for minimum academic standards. The programmes are designed to enable our graduates to take on academic, professional, and administrative responsibilities, in public and private sectors of the nation and globally. The programmes are undertaken through coursework, seminars, research, and other modes, as may be prescribed by the Senate.